Etihad Stadium

Etihad Stadium

Also widely-recognized as the City of Manchester Stadium, Etihad Stadium is home to the 2017/18 Premier League champions, Manchester City. The stadium can hold 55,097 spectators, and is the fourth-largest in the Premier League.

Erected to host the 2002 Commonwealth Games, the stadium has since accommodated the 2008 UEFA Cup Final, England football internationals, and several sporting events like rugby and boxing matches.

Originally, the stadium was proposed as an athletics arena in Manchester City’s bid for the 2000 Summer Olympics. It was then expanded after the 2002 Commonwealth Games from a capacity of 38,000 to 48,000. Following that, Manchester City FC agreed to lease the stadium for the club and moved from Maine Road in the summer of 2003.

The stadium incorporates a cable-styled roof structure which is separated from the stadium bowl and suspended entirely by twelve exterior masts and cables. In August 2015, the stadium underwent renovation to further expand its seating capacity. A 7,000 third seat tier on the South Stand was added just before the 2015/16 season kicked off.

Home Team: Manchester City
Capacity: 55,097
Field Size: 115 x 74 yards