World Cup 2018 Awards: Golden Ball, Golden Boot, Golden Glove, Young Player

World Cup 2018 awards

France added another star on their jersey after beating Croatia 4-2 on Sunday in the World Cup final. Of course, this wasn’t the only highlight of the tournament. The 2018 edition of the event showcased wild and unforgettable moments with 169 goals scored and it came within two of matching the highest scoring World Cup to date.

Russia 2018 was full of unexpected results–two of the most notable involved Ballon d’Or winners Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. More than that, the ups and downs of the tournament featured endless surprises such as England and Belgium making it to the semifinals, Croatia a game away from winning it all, and of course, individual performances that would have scouts listing down the best prospects. Let’s take a look at the winners of the individual World Cup 2018 awards handed out after the final:

Golden Ball Award

Luka Modric, Croatia: The Real Madrid midfielder was crowned the tournament’s best player as a consolation, serving as the heart and soul of the team’s magnificent run to the final. He displayed consistency across all matches and rightfully takes home the award.

FIFA Young Player Award

Kylian Mbappe, France: No other player contested the Frenchman for the awart. The 19-year-old PSG forward scored four goals in total, including one in the final. He’s only the next teenage player to score a goal in the final (with Pele being the first). Mbappe has a bright future ahead of him, and all signs point to him winning the Ballon d’Or award in a few years’ time.

Golden Boot Award

Harry Kane, England: Even though the English striker wasn’t the best in the tournament, he finishes as top scorer with six goals to his name. Three of his goals came off the penalty spot, which might not impress many out there. However, not a single player in the tournament scored more than six goals, making Harry Kane the only candidate for the award. Expect the 24-year old Tottenham player to come back for more in 4 years.

Golden Glove Award

Thibaut Courtois, Belgium: Voted best goalkeeper of the tournament, Courtois conceded only six goals in seven games. Belgium took third place, making it the nation’s best finish in the World Cup. The Chelsea player made some astonishing saves, but it was his relevant contributions against Brazil sealed the deal.